It’s the week of October 6th, and a new frontier is opening up in the universe of LinkedIn recruiter: a “reactive” feature that will let users “receive notifications whenever someone joins a LinkedIn account, or updates their LinkedIn profile.”
The feature, dubbed “reaction” by LinkedIn, will let LinkedIn’s recruiter team determine whether you’re actually an existing LinkedIn member, or simply a friend who has joined LinkedIn in the past.
To get the notification, users will need to use a button on their profile that looks like a “LinkedIn button.”
Users can then click on that button, and they’ll be taken to the LinkedIn page where they’ll see an animated notification.
It appears as if a recruiter is clicking on your profile, and you’ll be presented with a list of all your LinkedIn friends.
In a video on the LinkedIn site, the company explains the process of what you’ll get when you click on the “Reaction button”: “The response will appear in the notification pop-up for the user, showing you who’s actually a member of LinkedIn, and why.
This will let you know whether you should join, or leave.”
That’s exactly what happened to me.
I got a notification about joining LinkedIn a few minutes later.
It was pretty innocuous: “Join LinkedIn,” and “Update your LinkedIn profile,” with a green checkmark next to my name.
It didn’t tell me why I was joining LinkedIn, or what it was that LinkedIn was asking me to do.
It just gave me a confirmation email.
The only way to know for sure that you’re an existing member is to go to the link and read it.
It’s not that easy.
I did this in the morning and did not see the notification.
When I clicked on the link, the recruiter’s email popped up and I saw my name and my status.
I could have gotten the notification at any time.
I was still on the recruiteer’s LinkedIn page, and I could easily click on my friend’s name to see their status and status update.
I would have liked to see a link to a profile or a profile photo that actually said “Join.”
But LinkedIn says that you don’t need to click on a link for the recruist to know that you have joined.
You don’t have to click, either.
When you get the initial notification, the only information that LinkedIn sends is “who is a member.”
You don’ have to know who you’re a member to join.
If you click a link on a friend’s profile, the profile is automatically updated and the recruizer can see if that friend has joined.
If your friend isn’t a member, you don’ need to update the profile to show that they have joined, either, because that will not trigger the notification anymore.
But if you click the link on their LinkedIn page (the link that will open a new profile), they’ll know you’re in.
LinkedIn says you’ll have to sign up on LinkedIn and sign up with your LinkedIn account in order to get notifications like this.
But that’s the point of the notification feature: LinkedIn wants you to be in a “Reactive” state when you sign up.
If someone joins you on LinkedIn, they’re automatically added to your profile as a member and added to the list of people that are also on your friends list.
If a friend has already joined you, they won’t show up in your “Active” section.
You’ll still be a member if you want to see updates about your friends.
This is important because LinkedIn wants to make sure that it doesn’t take too much of your time to find out that someone is actually a real LinkedIn member.
When people join LinkedIn, their profile information and the people on your LinkedIn list will get sent to LinkedIn.
LinkedIn uses that information to send out notifications to all your friends, and if you’re not a member yet, you won’t receive any notifications about people on the company’s lists.
The recruiter can send you notifications for people on LinkedIn even when you’re already a member.
LinkedIn is currently testing a “Active and Recruit” feature.
You can see how it works here.
But even if LinkedIn makes the feature fully reactive, it’s not clear if it’ll be fully useful.
It’ll still probably be easier for you to “sign in” to LinkedIn with your email address, phone number, and password.
But it’s unclear how useful this feature is for real life.
The LinkedIn recruiteers will have a way to keep track of people who are already in your LinkedIn group, so if you’ve been “Active,” and they’ve been joining you, it could be hard to tell if you belong.
But there’s no telling if people who join LinkedIn will have this option, and it’s also unclear how much it’ll affect the amount of time people spend on LinkedIn.
If LinkedIn is able to make this feature fully useful for real-life use,